top of page

Lessons on Being: Commitment to a Meditation Practice


Like every good yogini I always knew that meditation was an essential part of the practice, but in the past, that meant only making periodic contact with my meditation cushion. I would be consistent for days, weeks, maybe a month—but inevitably life would happen and get in the way.

I can honestly admit this has often been true of my asana practice as well. I suppose we all struggle with balance, self-care, and keeping good habits. It’s an integral part of life, but also an essential part of my being a teacher and practicing what I preach.

The problem with my meditation practice before was that I was ‘doing’ meditation instead of ‘being’ meditation. I was always trying to make something happen when it came to my sitting practice. I wanted some sort of guidance or magic to occur—something to guide my way and steer my day. As a Reiki master, I regularly ask for and receive advice in my sessions both on myself and with others. Angels, spirit guides, and animal medicine are a regular part of my routine, but they did not necessarily belong in my personal meditation.

Last fall, I took Elena Brower’s three-day Art of Attention Teacher Enhancement Module. I had been following her as a teacher for a few years and am not only greatly inspired by her teachings, but also by the way she lives her life. A good teacher's inner and outer lives are in congruence and from what I can tell, Elena Brower has definitely got that down.

Her biggest hope for us upon leaving the workshop was that we would stay consistent with our meditation practice. She took questions from the group throughout the three days, and several people wanted to know why they experienced specific things in their meditation. Elena’s answer was simple and straightforward: The sitting practice is not about thinking or analyzing, it’s just about experiencing and being. Moreover, she was clear that her undeniable congruence and integrity in life came in large part from her unwavering dedication to her meditation practice.

Since that training and persuasive call to action (or call to being as it were), I have made meditation a non-negotiable part of my day. Now, each morning, when I wake up the first thing I do, is get to my meditation cushion. Some days I’m distracted, and other days I feel more in the flow—but I show up no matter what. Also, I just sit. I don’t try to make anything happen. For 20 minutes I focus on my breath and let everything else fall into place. The rest of our lives are filled with thinking, questioning, and analyzing. The gem of meditation practice is that it helps clear out the residue that life leaves behind and uncovers our best self.

It is worth mentioning that in the eight limbs of yoga there is a distinction between Dharana (concentration) and Dhyana (meditation). It’s likely that most of us are spending our time in concentration versus true meditation, but it doesn’t mean that it’s all for naught. Extended episodes of concentration on a single focus (the breath or a mantra) can lead to being in the flow of meditation—where thoughts fall away, and stillness remains. We may only get small glimpses of this state even in a lifetime of practice, but there is no doubt that the ‘concentration’ practice is hugely beneficial and worth showing up to day in and day out.

I think many people resist sitting because quite frankly, it’s just not easy. My resistance came because I was trying to make the practice something that it wasn’t. Moreover, I still have room for my other practices like listening to guidance and inviting in angels, but I save that for after my meditation practice. Also, it’s a win-win since, after the sitting and stillness, the flow of intuition is much more accessible.

I can only hope to continue to show up to my meditation cushion day after day so that I can lead by example. I truly believe that peace starts with each one of us and that the work I do in my sitting practice makes a big difference personally, locally, and even globally.

bottom of page